Hobbies and Stuff

DSC_5741

So, I decided to add another hobby to my already long list of photography, clothes (because shopping, daydreaming about, pinning, and internet surfing for them is a hobby), practicing playing the piano and singing, reading and writing, exercising, and drawing and painting (although I have not touched that one in a long, long time). But now, I got a serger, so sewing is another one of my new things. What can I say?! I love life and all it has to offer! I’m just so interested in just about everything crafty, creative, and artsy.

I am especially interested in upcycling but I don’t think that will mean my closet will ever be completely upcyled because of lack of sewing skills and also there are just some things a serger and sewing machine can’t do, such as embroider and knit sweaters . But how cool would that be if my whole wardrobe were upcycled though?!

So, these shorts for Ruby were my first project. Actually, I made 2 of them because the first one I realized she will outgrow within a week, so I made a bigger one that she can grow into. I have a long list of projects with my serger, so hopefully the poor thing is sturdy! Here are some of the things I want to accomplish in order:

1. Finally finishing the slipcovers for our dining room chairs. I am currently working on that right now and will be finished with it by the end of the week, after a year of saying I would finish them, but having a serger changes some dynamics, so I will totally get them done!

2. Upcycling some clothes from the thrift stores. I got a few large men’s shirts from the thrift store that I am going to turn into shirts for Ruby Rose and I.

3. Make some t-shirt dresses for the summer for me and my cutie, hopefully up cycled ones.

4. Make curtains for the guest bedroom.

I am excited for these projects. I can’t wait to share them when I am done!

DSC_5739

DSC_5736

DSC_5732

DSC_5751

Leave a Reply

